Why I Love My New KitchenAid Mixer

I finally purchased a Kitchen-aid mixer. I feel like it is a must-have if you like to bake or cook. I bought it on sale at Kohl’s, but I had to choose between the classic plus and the artisan series (which was over $100 more than the classic). The artisan series came in some fun colors, while the classic only came in white. While having a bright red mixer would have been cool, I ended up choosing the white classic plus and slicer/shredder attachment together cheaper than the artisan model cost.

My mom used her mixer all the time when I was growing up. That was one thing I really missed when I moved out when I wanted to make cookies. I was spoiled. KitchenAid mixers are a great, quality product that lasts, and is super easy to clean.

One great reason to invest in a stand mixer is the numerous different attachments you can buy. Instead of having individual appliances cluttering your kitchen, have one appliance that has multiple different functions. It came with the standard mixer attachment, a wire whisk, and a dough hook. That is one thing I can’t wait to make is home made bread!

Here are some options you have with your KitchenAid:

Slicer/Shredder – I bought this one and so far I have only tried the slicer part with some veggies I had lying around. It is meant for firm vegetables like carrots or zucchini, but I thought I’d see how it did with onions and bell peppers — a little too juicy, perhaps. I can’t wait to see how it does shredding cheese.

Pasta maker – Make the pasta dough in the bowl, and use this attachment to roll out various types of pasta.

Juicer – Why buy a whole separate appliance when you can use one you already own.

Ice cream maker – All this is really is an outer jacket for your bowl, but it is all you need to turn your mixer into a homemade ice cream maker.

You can also buy larger bowls with handles, splash guards, mixer covers, a food grinder, etc. What the mixer does do is make homemade cooking a lot easier. This is important when you want to have more control over what you are eating. Yes, buying processed pasta, bread, shredded cheese, juice, and ice cream is more convenient, but every once in a while I’d like to have a fresh meal with simple ingredients. The possibilities are almost endless! Feel free to share recipes great for stand up mixers 🙂

Leave a Reply

