Brownie Mix Cookies

We recently bought a six-pack of brownie mixes from Costco and I was getting a little tired of the same dessert. Still wanting to use the brownie mix, I wondered what other desserts could I make, using the brownie mix. I found a lot of recipes that were just a twist on a brownie, but I wanted something different. Then I saw cookies!

I love brownies (hence the buying in bulk), and turning them into cookies allows you to enjoy them much faster. Making brownies can take up to an hour, cookies take less than 10 minutes. All you need to turn your brownie mix into cookies is:

1/4 cup of flour

1/4 cup vegetable oil

3 tbsp. water

2 eggs

Optional: chopped pecans, chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, etc.

After you mix all of the ingredients together, drop spoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet and bake at 350 F for 9 minutes. I happened to have the Ghirardelli mix with chocolate chips already in it, but I did add some chopped pecans too and they turned out great. I was expecting a denser more brownie-like cookie, but these were actually pretty fluffy and light. Next batch I think I will tweak the recipe to try to make them more chewy.

I also think these cookies will last a lot longer than one pan of brownies do. And of course, in the spirit of efficiency – remember to clean while you cook – in this case I did, literally. I’m just glad I was able to satisfy my late night sweet tooth, and make a nice Easter treat.

Leave a Reply

